Almost Done… Time for a Spring Clean

It’s been a year since my last post, so I decided to do a Spring Clean on my blog to motivate me to write more. Title change, URL change and theme change. Almost everything is different, except that I’ll keep talking about Jesus.

See, it’s almost a new, exciting stage of life for me. At the end of this year I’ll be starting a new phase of my training. Moving interstate and working with a new church. I’m excited.

And I’m getting married soon. Which is even more exciting. I’ll no longer be a student, but a Pastor (of sorts), a husband, and a step parent. Did I mention that I’m excited?

So why call the blog ‘Inverted Culture’?

I’ve spent some time over the past few years thinking about what our culture tells us is good, and right, and honourable. In every day and age people are influenced by the culture around them but as Christians we are called to influence the people around us. But to what end? Many people try and attain influence by being the smartest, or fastest, or even the strongest. Whatever the field of expertise, people try and influence others by being the best… if they are the best, surely people will follow them.

But in the first century Jesus did something very different. He took what the culture depicted as greatness and inverted it. He was the King of the Jews, he was expected to be a King, yet he as a carpenter. He was expected to sit on the throne of Jerusalem receiving honour and glory, yet he went to the cross giving honour and glory to his father. He revolutionised the treatment of women, children, the outcast and the poor. In almost every way, Jesus was counter-cultural.

And Jesus calls us, as Christians, to be the same. We need to spit out the lukewarm water that our culture gives us. Learn to love where the is hate. Offer acceptance where there is rejection. We need to stop conforming, and start transforming.

We need an Inverted Culture.

Leave a Reply

